h1

Morning Prayer – 6 (Celtic Prayer)

January 5, 2008

cross.jpg

Introduction

Lord, hear my voice when I call to you. My heart has prompted me to

seek your face; I seek it Lord; do not hide from me, alleluia

adapted from Psalm 25

The maker of all things,

The Lord God worship we;

Heaven white with angels’ wings,

Earth and the white-waved sea.

May the Trinity protect me wherever I stay, Father, Son and Holy Spirit.

May Jesus and the Father,

may the Holy Spirit sanctify us!

May the mysterious God not hidden in darkness,

may the bright King save us!

The praise of Christ is illustrious speech,

The worship of God’s Son is an art full of virtue.

May everyone who has sung it or heard it

Belong to God’s kingdom without rejection.

Christ, Christ, hear me!

Christ, Christ of your meekness!

Christ, Christ love me!

Sever me not from your sweetness!

Litany

Have mercy on us O God, Father almighty.

immeasurable God.

patient God.

incorruptible God.

immortal God.

eternal God.

perfect God.

merciful God.

wonderful God.

heavenly Father, who abides in heaven,

Have mercy on us.

Have mercy on us O God, Father almighty,

God of earth.

God of fire,

God of the waters of wonder.

God of the gusting and blustering air.

God of the many languages found

throughout the world,

heavenly Father, you who abide in heaven,

Have mercy on us.

Have mercy on us, O God the Almighty,

Jesus Christ Son of the living God,

O true Knowledge.

O true Light of love, who enlightens all darkness,

O guiding Light.

O Sun of truth.

O Morning Star.

O Brightness of the divinity.

O Radiance of eternal brightness.

O Christ crucified.

O eternal judge, have mercy on us.

Have mercy on us, O God the Almighty,

Jesus Christ Son of the living God.

O Angel of great counsel.

O true Prophet.

O true Apostle.

O true Teacher.

O High Priest

O Nazarene.

O Christ crucified.

O eternal judge, have mercy on us.

Have mercy on us Almighty God,

O Holy Spirit.

O Teacher of true wisdom,

O Spirit of understanding.

O Spirit of Counsel.

O Spirit of strength.

O Spirit of knowledge.

O Spirit of tenderness

– O Holy Spirit, who rules all creation, visible and invisible,

Have mercy on me.

Have mercy on us Almighty God,

O Holy Spirit.

O Spirit of love.

O Spirit of grace.

O Spirit, from whom all good comes.

O Spirit, who annuls all guilt.

O Spirit, who wipes out sin.

– O Spirit, who rules all creation, visible and invisible, Have mercy on me.

Invocation

Lord, be with us this day,

Within us to purify us;

Above us to draw us up;

Beneath us to sustain us;

Before us to lead us;

Behind us to restrain us;

Around us to protect us.

St Patrick

We must get up before the sun to bless you, O God,

And adore you at the break of day.

Wisdom 16.28

Antiphon and Psalmody

O God, you are my God;

Eagerly I seek you, my soul is athirst for you.

Psalm 95.1–8

Come, let us sing to the Lord;*

let us shout for joy to the rock of our salvation.

Let us come before his presence with thanksgiving*

and raise a loud shout to him with psalms.

For the Lord is a great God,*

and a great king above all gods.

In his hands are the depths of the earth,*

and the heights of the hills are his also.

The sea is his, for he made it,*

and his hands moulded the dry land.

Come, let us bow down and bend the knee,*

and kneel before the Lord our Maker.

For he is our God,

and we are the people of his pasture

and the sheep of his hand.*

O that today you would hearken to his voice!

‘Harden not your hearts,

as your forebears did in the wilderness,*

at Meribah, and on that day at Massah, when they tempted me.’

Glory to the Father and to the Son:*

And to the Holy Spirit;

As it was in the beginning, is now:

And shall be for ever.

Amen.

O God, you are my God; Eagerly I seek you, my soul is athirst for you.

Reading

Intercessions and Thanksgivings

Lord’s Prayer

Almighty God,

Father, Son, and Holy Spirit

to me the least of saints,

to me allow that I may keep even the smallest door,

the farthest, darkest, coldest door,

the door that is least used, the stiffest door.

If only it be in Your house, O God,

that I can see Your glory even afar,

and hear Your voice,

and know that I am with You, O God.

St Columba

Christ the lowly and meek,

Christ the all powerful,

Be in the heart of each to whom I speak,

In the mouth of each who speaks to me,

In all who draw near me,

Or see me, or hear me!

St Patrick

May the road rise to meet you,

May the wind be always at your back,

May the sun shine warm upon your face,

May the rain fall soft upon your fields,

And until we meet again,

May God hold you in the hollow of his hand.

AMEN

