h1

Listening with the heart

December 17, 2007

For some 10 years now the monastic tradition has influenced and shaped my life and ministry. I have been so thankful for the journey of transformation that I have been on. So much so that I have decided over the next short while to concentrate upon a theological journey of sorts through some of the the main streams of monastic tradition. I’m starting with “Benedictine Spirituality” that spirituality which is found in the rule of Benedict and the many theological books that are available on the subject. Some of the books will require a detailed reading while others will be read in a few hours.The following books I have selected for a reading retreat that I intend to have sometime after Easter.

The Way of St.Benedict  

Seeking God: The Way of St.Benedict by Esther De Waal

The Benedictine Handbook  

The Benedictine Handbook by Anthony Marett-Crosby

St. Benedict's Toolbox: The Nuts and Bolts of Everyday Benedictine Living  

St. Benedict’s Toolbox: The Nuts and Bolts of Everyday Benedictine Living by Jane Tomaine

Benedict's Way of Love  

Radical Hospitality: Benedict’s Way of Love by Daniel Homan and Pratt Lonni Collins

Spiritual Direction and the Benedictine Tradition (Spiritual Directors International): Spiritual Direction and the Benedictine Tradition (Spiritual ... (Spiritual Directors International)  

Hospitality: Spiritual Direction and the Benedictine Tradition by Leslie A. Hay

The Benedictine Tradition (Traditions of Christian Spirituality)  

Prayer and Community: The Benedictine Tradition (Traditions of Christian Spirituality) by Columba Stewart

The Rule of St. Benedict for Everyday Life  

Wisdom from the Monastery: The Rule of St. Benedict for Everyday Life by Patrick Barry, Richard Yeo, and Kathleen Norris

I’m hoping that the time spent on these books will educate and inspire me. I’m looking forward to 5 days away to contemplate and to create some listening space, in reading, so that I can hear God speak to me.

I’ll be keeping a journal and will blog it upon my return.

